May 1 – Beach Days

by Doris Jean Shaw

I stand against the rail staring out at the waves as they rush to shore, grab sand, then glide back into the water all with a crashing sound that draws your attention. The sand looks like ice cream with lots of vanilla beans scattered throughout. Small sandpipers peck at the things the waves unearth; they hurry to the edge and run back as though to keep their feet dry. Over and over the Pipers make a mad dash to get the goodies and back out of the waves reach. Large birds fly in formation then swoop down to catch the unexpected appetizer that the waves have brought to the surface. The grayness of the day and the biting wind has kept all but the hardy inside. As the wind creeps up my pants legs and chills me to the core, I retreat inside pulling the sliding glass door shut with a thud.

From my position stretched out on the couch, I can still see the waves dashing in and receding in no hurry to be anywhere. I sip my tea and let out a sigh as the sun drives the grayness away. Sitting up I discover that a few souls now walk the sugar sand beach pausing to watch boats make their way out to sea. I venture to the door only to have a blast of wind send me scampering back inside. For a while longer I sit and watch as the sun turns all to whiteness. Unable to resist any longer, I pull on my heavy pants over my leggings, don cap, scarf and gloves to face the wind head on.

Canadians come here to get away from the cold and this bit of interruption does not keep them from coming outside. With sunglasses on, I turn and face the wind. How far can I get before the cold manages to find me and the wind whipping in my face makes a walk on the beach not the best idea of the day, I have yet to discover. When I can take it no longer, I head back to my couch to indulge in a bowl of clam chowder and watch the waves as they still clamor to the beach and back to the ocean in a never-ending race to nowhere.

Doris Jean Shaw is a retired educator, Life Coach, author and member of Beauregard Parish Writers Guild “The Ink Blots.”  She loves to travel and writes romances, children’s stories and devotionals.  She presents a workshop, entitled “Reclaiming Me” that helps others find direction for their futures.

2 responses to “May 1 – Beach Days

  1. Nice. Refreshing. Makes me want to join you. =)

    Writer Advice Managing Editor, http://www.writeradvice.com
    Author of YOU WANT ME TO DO WHAT? Journaling for Caregivers & Author of TALENT
    blynngoodwin.com

  2. I felt the chilly wind as I walked the beach with you.
    A lovely description in every word.
    Isadora 😎

Leave a Reply

