April 13 – Learn from Foolish

by Doris Jean Shaw

I’m sitting here thinking about all the foolish mistakes I have made and sort of feeling sorry for myself. There’s nothing like having something come up to remind me.

I ask myself, “How could I have been so stupid.”

OK, it does no good to cry over what has happened so why do these things keep popping up. I thought I had let them go. I guess not. If things come around too often and clutter my mind I need to get rid of them. That’s easier said than done.

In the past I suffered from a bout of foolishness dragging me down. I came up with a plan to get rid of things that clutter the mind. I shared this with the people  writer’s group who had some of the same problems.

“How do you get rid of things that clutter the mind and drag one down?”

I had asked myself that before. Now it had become a workshop. I worked on ways to accomplish this and thought I had completed the task. Much to my surprise, here I am again regretting some of the foolish choices I made. One of the group suggested that just because you get things in order doesn’t mean that you keep it that way. It seems that once you let things go you need to take some time and re-evaluate your life. I guess I can’t keep from making foolish mistakes but I can take control and not let them take over my life.

It’s a small reminder to take time once a year and re-evaluate life and see what you need to go and what things you need to add. Nice to know that even though I make foolish mistakes I can learn from them and build something positive. Guess I need to schedule another workshop.

Doris Jean Shaw

Doris Jean Shaw is a retired educator, Life Coach, author and member of Beauregard Parish Writers Guild “The Ink Blots.”  She loves to travel and writes romances, children’s stories and devotionals.  She presents a workshop, entitled “Reclaiming Me” that helps others find direction for their futures.

Leave a Reply

