May 14 – My Patio

by Doris Jean Shaw

easy-wave-plum-petunia-299312815810716Njq

I take my coffee out on the patio just as the sun begins to hit the sky with a slight tinge of white. It is cool so I pull my housecoat close about me and watch as the sky changes to a delicate shade of pink. Sun up and coffee drank, I start my morning with breakfast served on the patio. I worry as Bud takes the step down from the house but he makes it.

In a previous life I must have been a nomad who lived outdoors most of the time and only went inside to sleep. Even better, I would be sleeping under the stars or in a lean-to that kept the wind off while I enjoyed the night sky with the soft velvet dotted with sparkles of light. Now, I get out as much as I can. Duties drive me inside only temporarily.

Lunch finds us back on the patio. I look across the table at Bud and flashes of by-gone days on the beach cross my mind. He would prop his feet up on the rail and watch the activities going on around the pool. I think I could sleep out here if a lounge could be shoved into the four-foot space.

No such luck, Bud is down for a nap and I attempt to complete the necessary housework to keep us going.

Supper finds us on the patio having missed the sun pouring in during the late afternoon. We now must deal with the descending shadows and the cool breeze coming our way. I linger for a moment before helping Bud up the one step to the house wondering how much longer he can make that step.

Doris Jean ShawDoris Jean Shaw is a retired educator, Life Coach, author and member of  the Beauregard Parish Writers Guild–The Ink Blots. She loves to travel and writes romances, children’s stories and devotionals. Mrs. Shaw presents a workshop, entitled Reclaiming Me that helps women find direction for their futures.

3 responses to “May 14 – My Patio

  1. Beautiful writing–so tender and heart-rendering. I hope Bud makes that least step for a long time to come…and you with him. ❤

  2. Linda Hoye shared this lovely piece on Facebook. I identify with you, having just returned from lunch on the deck. Every day is a gift. Every meal outside a blessing.

Leave a Reply

