January 15 – Kitchen Window Thoughts

by Laurinda Wheeler

This morning I caught myself, as I often do, staring out the kitchen window as I puttered my way around; washing dishes, putting things away and tidying the counters. My mind began to drift as I realized that what I was seeing is not my own, in many ways, nor is it what I wish to see.

I wish for the simpler times; simpler in ways that seem to justify the hard, back breaking, painful side that also fully encompassed that life. Worries and concerns that were, perhaps, life threatening, changing, but real. Work, a lot of it, that fostered true appreciation for what was had, held, cherished, consumed.

I think about how different, how special, beautiful and healthy this world could be if only things were just a little simpler, not to be confused with easier.

Later, as I walked down the street, a quick trip to the corner store, my mind was still challenging the world, weaving words together, thoughts I wanted to get out, when I began to take in the sounds of cars that were passing by; the whiiiirs of motors, the constant whispers, shelu, shelu, shelu, as tires tread through the muck of melting snow, the sudden blast of muffled music as a car speeds past.

And then, I was standing in the middle of an intersection, having been narrowly missed by a car that had mindlessly sped through the red light, as it came to a stop only two feet beside me.

The thoughts swirling around my mind cemented as truth.

The way that we are living should be different…

…it should be nothing like this!

Laurinda is a Stay at Home, Homeschooling Mom who is always trying to find time to write. She is also a contributor in SCN President, Pat LaPointe’s recent book, The Woman I’ve Become.

4 responses to “January 15 – Kitchen Window Thoughts

  1. Laurinda, when I read your post I felt as if you’d just transcribed what has been on my mind the past few weeks. I can really relate to how you feel, and my heart skipped a beat when I read how you narrowly missed being hit by the car whose driver paid no attention to a red light. A neighbor of mine was hit and killed by a similar speeding driver just last week. You are absolutely right–the way we are living should be different! Maybe if we vow to try to make our own little corner of the world a bit simpler, we can be a catalyst for change. But in any case, please take comfort that you’re not alone in these feelings.

  2. Thank you Cathy! You said it, “Maybe if we vow to try to make our own little corner of the world a bit simpler, we can be a catalyst for change.”, that is EXACTLY how I feel! One little step at a time and we can do this!

  3. Laurinda, I’m so glad you were present that day to the chaos, which inadvertently placed you a step ahead of that car. Our presence, awareness, is all we really have, so thank you for bringing yours to this notion of business and unconsciousness. I know I’m lost in thought often while driving, so it makes me want to pay attention too when Im behind the wheel. So easy to be anywhere but here and now, so many distractions. Sky, earth, road, fellow travelers, we have to see one another.

  4. Laurinda, you speak for many of us. Well said.

Leave a Reply

