July 29 – Thank You, Story Circle Network

by Linda Hoye

I had received a text message earlier in the day letting me know that a package had been delivered to my home. When I left my office at the end of the day excitement took hold. I couldn’t wait to get home, open up that package, and hold the contents in my hand.

Five years earlier my husband and I had moved from our home in Canada to a community just south of Seattle. For two and a half years I had commuted from Canada to the Seattle area for my job; two weeks at home, two weeks away from home. Living with one foot in each place was hard and ultimately we chose to move to the Pacific Northwest.

I felt lost for a while after the move. I missed friends and family, and my husband worked on weekends leaving me alone and lonely. With the extra time on my hands, I decided it was time to start writing again and I started a blog with the vague notion of writing about things I wanted my children to know about my life. Before too long I connected with other like-minded blogging women and on one of my journeys out-and-about in the blogosphere I came across a link to an organization called the Story Circle Network.

I decided to become a member. I joined an online writing circle where I began sharing my writing with others and I took some classes where I received feedback and learned new writing techniques. Over the years I got to know many of the members of Story Circle Network virtually and was thrilled to have the opportunity to attend my first Stories from the Heart conference—and to facilitate a panel discussion on blogging—in 2008.  Meeting women I had come to know online, and others I met for the first time at the conference, was like coming home. I felt like I had found my tribe.

Fast forward to a May afternoon in 2012 and I’m on my way home from work looking forward to opening a package containing the first proof copy of my memoir.

Story Circle Network opened up a world of opportunity for me. It helped me access the tenacity necessary to put my butt-in-chair long enough to finish writing the book. The friendships I’ve formed, the encouragement I’ve received, the things I’ve learned, have all contributed to me being able to see my book in print.

Today, I’m proud to serve as a Story Circle Network board member, an editor for Story Circle Book Reviews, coordinator for the group’s One Woman’s Day blog, and I facilitate a local Story Circle near where I live.

I’m also a published author and the acknowledgment section of my book credits Story Circle Network with being instrumental in helping me find my voice so I could write my story.

Linda Hoye is a writer, editor, adoptee, and somewhat-fanatical grandma. Her work has appeared in an assortment of publications in Canada and the US and in 2009 her piece, The Face in the Mirror, won second prize in the Susan Wittig Albert LifeWriting Competition. She recently published her memoir, Two Hearts: An Adoptee’s Journey Through Grief to Gratitude. Hoye currently lives in the state of Washington with her husband and their two Yorkshire terriers. She is looking forward to retirement and moving closer to her children and grandchildren
6 responses to “July 29 – Thank You, Story Circle Network

  1. That is one of the most beautiful packages I have ever seen. I am excited for you. What a thrill it must have been to open that.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote

  2. Oh it was definitely a thrill, Lee!

  3. Congratulations, Linda! You are definitely an inspiration to many!
    Laura

  4. Candace Knoebel

    Congratulations!

  5. I count myself fortunate to have been able to experience that ride vicariously through you, and to be one of the blogging friends that you finally met in person at that conference. It was quite a thrill for me as well!

  6. Congrats Linda! You are truly amazing. What an inspirational essay here but most of all, I’m looking forward to reading your new book. I’m also getting one for my younger son, also an adoptee. Surely it will be a great benefit to him. Hope to see you in Texas soon!

Leave a Reply

