June 19 – Looking Back One Year Later

by Cathy Scibelli

It’s hard to believe that one year ago I had never heard of Story Circle Network. I was surfing the Internet on a whim, seeing if there were any women’s writing groups that sounded interesting. I came across the Story Circle Network website and as I looked over the site something told me that this was a distinctly different kind of group.

I decided to give it a try. The first thing that told me that my instinct was right was a phone call I received shortly after joining from Barbara Miller who had read my profile and wanted to reach out to me as a fellow breast cancer survivor. I was really touched by her kindness and that inspired me to contact other members to introduce myself. I soon found myself in Sr. Mary Sullivan’s writing circle and will always regret I didn’t have the privilege of knowing her longer before her passing.

As the months have gone by, my life has truly been enriched by my membership. My Facebook friends list has grown, with new friends spread across the country–and one as close as the next town. Having several of my essay submissions accepted for Story Circle publications gave me the impetus to finally start the blog I’d been thinking about writing. That has been a real blessing in my life, deepening old relationships, strengthening new ones and opening up new publishing opportunities.

I don’t know where the road will lead in the year ahead, but one thing I do know is that I want to keep journeying with the Story Circle Network as my companions!

Cathy Scibelli’s writing has been featured in a variety of publications including A Book of Miracles, New York Newsday, Fate magazine, Teddy Bear Review and best of all, Story Circle Journal!

One response to “June 19 – Looking Back One Year Later

  1. Your experience with Story Circle parallels that of my own. It has given me the impetus to have my morning hours of writing. Who knows where it will lead.

Leave a Reply

