September 30 – When Caroline Met Harry


by Carol Ziel

Harry had been rattling around the neighborhood for a couple of months. He was a slightly feral cat with a whole lot of personality. One steamy autumn afternoon I heard a knock on my door. There he was. He had a real heavy paw for a young cat. He meowed engagingly, clearly having some kind of agenda. I shooed him away but within a couple of minutes there was another knock. It was Harry. I shooed him again. Within a few minutes there was a knock on my back door. It was him. I explained that I was not in the market for any kind of relationship. My daughter had moved home with a 3-year-old boy and two old lady cats. I already had a blind dog.

He looked up at me soulfully. I’d seen that look on any number of guy friends over the years, and recognized it for what it was–he wanted something that I had. I thought I had the situation well under control but I was wrong. I told him that if he was on my front porch when I came home from work at 1:00a.m., I would consider taking our relationship to the next level. He was only a cat. What were the chances, really?

It was close to 1:00 a.m. when I pulled up to the curb in my cronemobile . As I opened the storm door, I heard that meow. There he was perched on a porch cushion like he was the king of everything. Shameless opportunist that he was, he swished his tail, flicked his ears and walked in while I stood there in shocked silence. He is still with me, urgently engaged in establishing himself at the top of the pecking order.

I have to say that this is one of my more successful relationships. He comes and goes as he chooses, curls up for a cuddle on occasion, and communicates his wants and needs vigorously. I never have to wonder what is going on in that furry little mind, and as the Grand Dame of the household, I still hold the trump card.

Caroline Ziel is a 62-year-old grandmother, gardener, and social worker, hailing from the heart of MIssouri. She have been a member of SCN for about two years and has grown exponentially with the support of her writing circle and the SCN community.

3 responses to “September 30 – When Caroline Met Harry

  1. Cronemobile! I love it! Your delightful sense of humor is refreshing. Thanks for sunshine in my morning.

  2. Harry looks like a great cat, and a whole lot less trouble I bet than if he’s been a guy.

  3. Thanks for sharing. I also have a male black cat, named Jackie. He was also a stray who had a hard early life until his foster mother saved him. Now he is with me.

Leave a Reply

