January 5 – Two Years Ago Tonight


by Laurinda Wheeler

It’s hard to believe that two years have passed by already…

Two years ago tonight, I lay alone in a hospital bed with my two day old baby girl beside me; we didn’t realize, and no one offered, that my husband could stay with us. Baby girl was having a little bit of a problem with phlegm, choking and not being able to breathe; in the end it was nothing serious, but as a new mom, I was terrified! Next to us, was a rather loud baby, mom and dad; this baby would NOT stop crying!! When it finally would fall asleep, mom and dad would continue to chat, not very quietly, especially considering the time of night that it was. Baby girl, as she continued to do for nearly a year, did not sleep very well either, being continuously awakened by the commotions behind the curtain. I was exhausted, nervous about being left alone with a newborn, and longed to me in the comfort of my own home, with my husband there by my side. I grew more and more anxious, and extremely irritable; I just wanted to take my baby and walk out of the hospital!!

Finally, after very little sleep, it was morning! I called home, excited to find out when hubby and mom would be coming to get us; not, of course, thinking of the time it would take the doctor to come around, or what the reaction to my legs would be. Unfortunately, by morning, my legs, ankles and feet had swollen up to a rather large and uncomfortable size. When the doctor finally came around to see us, several hours after I had anticipated, there was a great concern for what was going on with me; baby girl had been deemed healthy enough to go home. We had to wait even longer as I was being sent for an ultra-sound to clear the possibility of a blood clot.

At last, time for our new little family to go home! The concern with ladybugs choking etc., the insecurities, all soon disappeared; taken over by the routine of our new life with a baby, the natural and instinctive take-over that happens.

Now, we sit here, two years later. Baby girl is not so much a baby anymore. She’s now a toddler, a little girl; a child with a brilliant mind all her own. Independent and strong-willed, learning so many things so quickly, developing her personality, and discovering her very distinct “likes” and “dislikes”. Our beautiful, precious little girl…

Laurinda has three beautiful step-children, and is currently staying at home with her beautiful two-year-old daughter! She has been inspired by her mom to get back to her writing. Laurinda blogs at Seasons of Life.

8 responses to “January 5 – Two Years Ago Tonight

  1. A delightful story, Laurinda. I love your phrase, “a mind of her own.” We would all be much happier if we could have minds of our own throughout our lives, so that we could choose what’s best for us, rather than what others think is best… Thanks for sharing!

  2. Jinni Turkelson

    Happy to know that all is well with your family. Those first days of parenthood can be terrifying! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Enjoy that baby girl… who will always be YOUR baby girl – even when she’s 30, trust me! They grow up so fast… I am sure that you speak for so many new moms who are filled with doubts and fears only to find that they soon settle into a very normal and healthy routine for themselves and their family.

  4. It has been a joy to watch Baby Girl grow into a toddler and it has been equally precious to see you blossom into motherhood.

    I remember how nervous I was with you as a newborn baby, too. Isn’t it amazing how our maternal instinct kicks in when we need it to!

  5. Thank you for your comments ladies!
    Susan-I agree, it would be wonderful if we could pay attention to our OWN minds at times instead of wasting time on what others would or do think!
    Jinni-Aside from an eye issue, that apparantely minor surgery will remedy; excuse me while I take a sharp deep breath in!!; our girl is perfectly healthy!!
    Lee-After only two short years, I can already see how quickly they do and will continue to grow!!
    Mom-It is amazing how in a matter of days, fear and insecurities are thrown out the window, replaced by natural knowledge that guides us to care for and protect our little angels!

  6. I love this! Thank you for sharing. Enjoy because the time will fly by.

  7. Thank you Judy! I am getting a little taste of just how quickly, but I can only truly imagine!!

  8. Just think how many more more stories there will be to tell as Baby Girl becomes Teen Girl becomes Woman. Thanks for sharing a memory from the first two years. Eighteen more years (at least) of stories to go!

Leave a Reply

